Hand Crafted · Seasonal

Creative Plantings

As the first of May is upon us, the end of cold weather is finally in sight.  Hopefully…  Here in Central Oregon we will still have below freezing temperatures through May, but the sunny, warm days give hope.   That means one thing for me….FLOWERS!  I strive to have the most colorful mix of blooms in as many varieties as possible.  I have tried to have more structured, color isolated flowers beds, but the call of “”choose me next” from a cheery pink Dianthus, a bright red Bee Balm, a sweet smelling Lavender, the orange smile of a California Poppy, sunshine on a stalk from a plate sized Sunflower, the bluesy whisper of Campanula Canterbury Bells, the purple clinging of a viney Climatis, the warmth of ruddy orange tipped in yellow of the Indian Paintbrush, the woodland call of the Columbine… You see, I just cant stop with one particular color theme.  Wildly colorful, all shapes and sizes, widths and breadths, they call to me and I cannot pass by.  A palette of artistic colorf, waiting to paint my yard.   So on an unusually warm May day I bought my first flat of cold hardy pansies and am ready to put them in to the planters out front.  “Then what will be my next project,” I thought to myself.  I stumbled across this lovely image of a bird cage re-purposed and I knew I was on to something…creative containers for planting.  Whimsy!  Yes, I want more whimsy in my life.  In looking for new ways to display my summer rainbow, I came across some very alluring options.  I can’t wait to clamor the tossings at yard sales, the left behind at thrift stores for treasures to hold the blooms that call.  I hope you leave this perusing inspired to think of that found object just waiting to become a home for “les fleurs d’ete!”  Jouirez! Enjoy!
Isaiah 40:8
The grass withers, the flower fades, But the word of our God stands forever. 

Song of Solomon 2:1-2
“I am the rose of Sharon, The lily of the valleys.” “Like a lily among the thorns, So is my darling among the maidens.”
“There are always flowers for those who want to see them.” ~Henri Matisse
Isaiah 18:5-6
For before the harvest, as soon as the bud blossoms And the flower becomes a ripening grape, Then He will cut off the sprigs with pruning knives And remove and cut away the spreading branches. They will be left together for mountain birds of prey, And for the beasts of the earth; And the birds of prey will spend the summer feeding on them, And all the beasts of the earth will spend harvest time on them.
Psalms 103:13-18
Just as a father has compassion on his children, So the LORD has compassion on those who fear Him. For He Himself knows our frame; He is mindful that we are but dust. As for man, his days are like grass; As a flower of the field, so he flourishes.
“Hope is the only bee that makes honey without flowers.” ~Robert Green Ingersoll
Mark 4:1
Again he began to teach beside the sea. And a very large crowd gathered about him, so that he got into a boat and sat in it on the sea, and the whole crowd was beside the sea on the land. And he was teaching them many things in parables, and in his teaching he said to them: “Listen! A sower went out to sow. And as he sowed, some seed fell along the path, and the birds came and devoured it. Other seed fell on rocky ground, where it did not have much soil, and immediately it sprang up, since it had no depth of soil.
Isaiah 58:11
The LORD will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.
Exodus 25:31-36
“Then you shall make a lampstand of pure gold. The lampstand and its base and its shaft are to be made of hammered work; its cups, its bulbs and its flowers shall be of one piece with it. “Six branches shall go out from its sides; three branches of the lampstand from its one side and three branches of the lampstand from its other side. “Three cups shall be shaped like almond blossoms in the one branch, a bulb and a flower, and three cups shaped like almond blossoms in the other branch, a bulb and a flower–so for six branches going out from the lampstand;
Genesis 4:9
And out of the ground the Lord God made to spring up every tree that is pleasant to the sight and good for food. The tree of life was in the midst of the garden, and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.
Luke 12:27-28
“Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; but I tell you, not even Solomon in all his glory clothed himself like one of these. “But if God so clothes the grass in the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, how much more will He clothe you? You men of little faith!
Keep steady my steps according to your promise, and let no iniquity get dominion over me.  Psalm 119:133
“The Earth laughs in flowers.” ~Ralph Waldo Emerson
John 15:5
I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.

“Art is the unceasing effort to compete with the beauty of flowers and never succeeding.” ~Gian Carlo Menotti

“Wild flowers grow where they will.” ~Theodore Roethke
“What sunshine is to flowers, smiles are to humanity.” ~Joseph Addison

“Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8:12
“The sweet smell of Lilacs floating on the air is as if the breath of God passes before you.” ~Kerry Hinton
“I perhaps owe becoming a painter to flowers.” ~Claude Monet
“I will never tire of the flowers in my life.” ~Kerry Hinton
5 thoughts on “Creative Plantings

  1. I enjoyed these most amazing creations!! Wow, makes me want to go out and find some bird cages to make into hanging baskets!! Blessings and thank you for sharing.

  2. I assume this was written by Kerry. Loved it! Such lovely images you painted. Such great word choices.

    I am enjoying my daffodils (the only thing those deer don’t eat).

    Xo’s, Jodi Klein

Leave a Reply

