"Trust In The Lord"

Heavenly Bread ~ By Megan

We read about Gods providence in the bible.  As children we learn how the Lord fed his children manna in the desert.  Yet, somehow as we get older it becomes a “cute” Sunday School story that doesn’t apply to our busy lives, when dinner needs to be made and we don’t have any food or when the rent is due and the poor economy has swallowed up our jobs.

File:Manual harvest in Tirumayam.jpg

Maybe we don’t look for it…  Maybe because we don’t expect it we don’t see it.  Maybe we think WE provided it.  Yet the older I get the lesson of how utterly out of control we are in this life keeps getting taught to me.  I like being in control.  Somehow though, in this life I have discovered that most of the time I’m not in control and when I think I’m in control it’s really because God is the one in control.

I miss my mother…

Amazingly even when I feel lost, when I don’t know where I am and what I need, God is in control looking out for me and my family, taking care of our needs before we even know we have a need.  Sometimes in the day in and day out, dirty dish after dirty dish, load of laundry after load of laundry, homework assignment after homework assignment we get consumed and it can be hard to see God at work.

pencil tip black and white

I can’t say I like trials or that I am always as trusting in God as I should.  Yet, somehow in those times where I can’t feel the warmth of the light and I am stripped bare of even the comfort of my routine, I find, as I take a step back, I am able to clearly see God taking care of me in undeniable ways.

The truth is Manna isn’t just something “special” God provided for the Israelite’s during the time of Moses, it’s something God provides for his children here and now in the 21st century.  Sure I have never tasted “heavenly” bread for my breakfast, however I have experienced the overpowering and awe inspiring providence of my heavenly father in large and small ways.  No, I don’t always know when or how he will provide and as the Israelite’s I often want to hold onto my manna overnight instead of trusting God to provide the perfect portion for each days need, yet even in my distrust God has never let me go hungry.

File:Viceroy Butterfly.jpg

My life isn’t perfect, I don’t have everything together and I still am living in the pain of this broken word.  Yet, even amidst the pain and suffering, my God is taking care of me and actively involved in big and small ways of caring for me.  I may not always be able to readily see it, I dare say I often miss it in my blindness, but the truth is when we look around God is undeniably in our midst taking care of and providing for us just as we read he did for his children way back in the Old Testament.

Deuteronomy 8:2-3 NIV

 2 Remember how the Lord your God led you all the way in the wilderness these forty years, to humble and test you in order to know what was in your heart, whether or not you would keep his commands. 3 He humbled you, causing you to hunger and then feeding you with manna, which neither you nor your ancestors had known, to teach you that man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord.

Sources: Image One, Image Two, Image Three, Image Three, Image Four

Leave a Reply

