"Trust In The Lord"

Take Me Wherever

“Alright God, I will go wherever you want me to go.”

 Just tell me and I will go… These are great things to say and important parts of surrendering to our Great Father. But what if we let God take us… and we gave complete control away?  How would this feel?  You see, with our illness, we sometimes use a wheel chair to save energy in order to go places we might not be able to go if we had to use all of our energy having to walk.  Though it seems strange and I still don’t think I fully understand it, riding in a wheel chair can really put you on edge and be a strange experience.

photo

You see, no long can I control where I am going.  My “driver”  does not necessarily go where I want to, may walk at NASCAR speed, or go at an agonizingly slow pace.  Or, you could have an enthusiastic 8 year old pushing you, who later decides that since you haven’t gone on any rides as of yet, he is going to give you one of his own; including wheelchair wheelies. Now I am not say that I don’t appreciate these “drivers” and their willingness to haul me around when they could be having a nice stroll.  Even Kyle’s loving attempt to give me my own personal ride was appreciated. But I no longer had any control over where I was going. I simply had to trust that they were going the right way, and if they were done look at something, then so was I! After a few hours of this, it can leave you a bit anxious, though my family is doing a great job, being fully out of control leaves you strangely vulnerable.

 It got me thinking.  What if our relationship with God was like this? “Submit yourselves to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.” James 4:7 What if we trusted Him enough to give Him complete control to take us anywhere? “Humble yourselves before the Lord, and He will lift you up.” James 4:10  Are we really willing to give up control and surrender to our Deliverer’s care? 

“Submit to God and be at peace with him;
    in this way prosperity will come to you.
   Accept instruction from his mouth
    and lay up his words in your heart.
   If you return to the Almighty, you will be restored:
    If you remove wickedness far from your tent
   and assign your nuggets to the dust,
    your gold of Ophir to the rocks in the ravines,
   then the Almighty will be your gold,
    the choicest silver for you.
   Surely then you will find delight in the Almighty
    and will lift up your face to God.
   You will pray to him, and he will hear you,
    and you will fulfill your vows.” Job 22:21-27

“Alright God, I will let You take me wherever You want me to go.”

Hoping Kyle lands this wheelchair wheelie……thump… “Sorry” 

~Katie

2 thoughts on “Take Me Wherever

  1. Okay here is my first response to your blog which I have been reading since you started writing! As always I enjoy your point of view – thanks for sharing and I will keep reading!!

  2. This is a fantastic analogy, Katie. Great insight. I think you should expand on this (make it a little longer perhaps) and try to get it published in a magazine. –Mrs. Klein

Leave a Reply

