Home Education

Review of “Let’s Make A Web Page” by MotherboardBooks.com

Motherboard Books Logo photo motherboardbookslogo_zps225f4801.jpg

Okay, let me say that after I asked to review Motherboard Book’s “Let’s Make A Web Page” for the Schoolhouse Review Crew I was a bit scared…no, downright terrified would be a better description.  I had thought to myself, “Okay, maybe my kids need some computer training.  I had no idea there was a curriculum to do this. I know nothing about making a web page by myself, so perhaps this is would be a great opportunity to to try out a computer curriculum.”  After I received the green light that I would have the opportunity to do just this, my thoughts went to, “What in the world was I thinking???  I know nothing about computers and making web pages…  I am going to get booted from the Crew for this one.  I will never be able to make a web page!”  Okay, “Let’s Make A Web Page” IS recommended for 8 to 12 year olds, but MAKE a web page….how could I possibly do such a thing?

So, when I was sent (via pdf download) for review “Let’s Make a Web Page!” by: MotherBoardbooks.com I opened the file with much trepidation, a pounding heart and hopes that I could do what they claimed an 8 to 12 year old would be able to do.  Me, who a year ago didn’t even have a clue about how to blog, upload images, include links, Blog Cruise and Hop, attend a Linky Party, make a button or any other such computer like skills…
Let's Make a Web Page logo photo motherboardbooks-letsmakeawebpage_zpsc51e735a.png

When we downloaded the 60 page e-book, that can be purchased for $19.95 at www.motherboardbooks.com, we began our journey.  In “Let’s Make a Webpage,” by Phyllis Wheeler, we were given very specific and detailed steps to follow in order to build our web page using a free 30 day trial of the software, CoffeeCup HTML Editor.  (You will need Windows XP, Vista or later to be able to download the CoffeCup HTML editor.)  The directions even included actual snap shots of what the CoffeeCup screen should actually look like, so I could tell if we were doing the right thing or not.  This was incredibly helpful, because the language of building a web page is not a part of my regular vocabulary.  I think I would have been lost without these pictures to guide me.

So, knowing the progression of my thoughts, you can imagine my fright when I sat down with my 9 year old son, who likes to be on the computer, but has a computer illiterate teacher, yes, that would be me.  I was very nervous that we wouldn’t be able to pull this off.  I decided to have him do a web page of his own likes and interests, instead of an interview of someone else.  This just seemed to simplify it for the both of us.  We titled it “Matthew’s Favorites.”

There are 10 lessons to follow in this e-book.

 photo Screenshotfrom2013-05-13215405.png

With the detailed instructions of “Let’s Make a Webpage,” we were able to build a web page in a few hours.  We did this over a period of small sessions throughout a week.  We learned how to add text, color, a picture and animation to our “Matthew’s Favorites” web page.  There was only one step that stumped me for a while, but we finally figured it out because we had that snap shot to look at.

photo (36)

If you sign up for the newsletter on the website, you can get a FREE “Internet Scavenger Hunt” (valued at $10) recommended for children 12 and up.

 photo Screenshotfrom2013-05-13221806.png

The Scavenger Hunt asks the student questions that can be found on the web.  They may only use a website one time.  It was a lot of fun and was a creative way to help a 9 year old learn to find answers to questions via the internet.  Instructions on internet safety are included for parents.

photo (35)

And so we did it!!!  We built a web page!  Me, the mom who never thought it possible, alongside the student who never imagined it wasn’t!

~Thankful to Have Made A Web Page~

Kerry

Photobucket

 photo Disclaimer2_zpsff718028.gif
Leave a Reply

