"Trust In The Lord"

Do You Know Who’s Visiting in Your Living Room?

Most recently I have been reading through the book of Luke in the morning for my Bible reading.   Having just read Matthew and Mark before Luke, most of the stories and parables from Jesus’s life are familiar and fresh in my mind.  Yet today, as I was reading, the story of Martha and Mary stood out to me.   It’s one of those Bible stories I think lot of us have heard.  Just thinking about Martha and Mary, the faint echo of a song about Martha and Mary that I learned as a Sunday school student goes through my head.

Yet today, it struck me that Martha seemed like someone I had met.  Someone that seems to pop up in our lives a great deal more than she aught.   I’m pretty sure each one of us has had “Martha” days.  All so easy, we can fall into getting so worried and concerned about all the things we have to do and get done by a certain time that our “To Do List” can completely consume us.  Filling our lives with worry and stress, that obscure the precious moment that might just be visiting in our living room with a sister who has learned when to just receive the blessing of the moment.

So take a moment to remember what’s really important or rather who is really important.  Because just like me, I bet you also want to make sure you’re living like Mary and giving our Savior our full attention.  So join me in trying to live each day more like Mary, ready to see the great things God’s is doing in our lives each and every day!

~Megan~

At the Home of Martha and Mary (Luke 10:38-42)

38 As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. 39 She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. 40 But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

41 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one.[f] Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

One thought on “Do You Know Who’s Visiting in Your Living Room?

Leave a Reply

