Odds and Ends

The 2013 Ultimate Blog Party

Welcome to the Party!

If you already follow our blog, we are participating in a Blog Party given by 

For those who don’t know what The Old Fashioned Girls are all about, here is a little peak into our life homeschooling on a mini-farm!

2013-03-28 13.59.05

I blog with my twin 16 years old daughters

2013-03-28 14.00.342013-03-28 13.58.16

here at http://www.oldfashionedgirls.wordpress.com where we like to share recipes, crafts, seasonal activities, life on our small acreage farm, curriculum reviews for The Old Schoolhouse Review Crew, sewing projects, gluten free baking tips and many things “Old Fashioned.”  We love the DIY life and have tried our hand at making soap from lye (turned out wonderfully), homemade laundry soap (works great and is inexpensive), dishwasher soap (this was a big flop thus far), facials from items in the kitchen (divine), kombucha and keifer making (makes for healthy tummies), beautiful handmade clothes and art quilts (I can say this because I wasn’t the one making them 🙂 and many other homemade projects we have tackled!

photo (7)  photo (8)

We also raise heritage turkeys and chickens for meat and eggs (yes, we process them ourselves and it is really not so bad), grow as many vegetables as possible in our short growing season, can homemade jam, eat mostly whole foods and love doing all of this as a family.  I love flowers and never have enough planted around our home (at least in my opinion).  Our family home schools (a 2nd, 4th and two 10th graders) using a literature based, eclectic style.  I am a fan of Charlotte Mason and my kid’s nature journals from the age of 5 and up are precious treasures.  But most of all we desire to be encouragers to others to find God’s gifts in everyday life: puddles, fresh bread, sunsets, tree swings, fresh picked tomatoes,seashells and crashing waves,  museum visits, walks along the river, the bountiful array of birds that pass by our windows and especially in His loving Word!

2013-03-22 12.40.11

Looking Forward to “meeting” New Friends at the 2013 Ultimate Blog Party!  We would love for you to leave a comment and follow our musings regularly♥

~Kerry~

73 thoughts on “The 2013 Ultimate Blog Party

  1. I’m visiting from the crew, here for the party, and now following your blog. I look forward to getting to know you.

  2. Hello there! How had I not yet stopped by from the Crew?? Anyway, I’m glad to have found you via the UBP and look forward to reading your blog more. I love DIY as well, though I’m a babe when it comes to doing it! Hopefully I can learn some tips from you! 🙂 Your girls are beautiful!

    1. Glad you made it over! With DIY sometimes you just have to start and learn as you go along. That’s one of our favorite methods! Because succeed or fail you learn a lot along the way. Arguably, you might say you learn more when you don’t quite succeed!

  3. Stopping by from the UBP to say hi! I’m really interested to read along with your adventures.

    I have a small garden and do a bunch of canning and preserving – having a mini farm sounds like a dream!

  4. Sounds like you and your family are productive and involved in all sorts of good activities. And what a sweet looking family. (How did you find a tree with a natural heart in it?)
    I’m a city girl, but I have a growing appreciation for whole foods, home grown, home baked, etc.
    I’m visiting from UBP, and I want to invite you to my new blog hop starting May 3rd on Bible Love Notes.

    1. Isn’t that heart cool! I love hearts too! My nephew found it at a park and it does appear to be natural! Your Blog Hop sounds lovely! I will have to check it out. I love the title, “Bible Love Notes.”

  5. Hello! I am anything but “Old Fashioned” however, I can find good things to learn anywhere. With that said- I look forward to visiting your page often and hearing from you and your daughters- how neat that they write too! I love to plant flowers but have a horrible time keeping thistle away. Blessings! Amy

    1. I was a city girl onside and out growing up. But after living in the country for close to 20 years now, I am amazed out the things I have done that were once out of my comfort zone! I look forward to visiting you soon!

  6. Lovely to “meet” you! Your blog is gorgeous and you write about some of my favorite topics. I will definitely be back to visit. Swing by my place if you have a few moments 🙂

  7. I have so much to learn from you! I am looking forward to keeping up with your blog. I’m hoping to start a garden now that I’ve moved out of the city and I would love to have chickens of our own. Ok, enough of my rambling. Found you via the UBP and I hope you’ll stop by and say hello!

  8. Hi, I’m here through UBP2013 🙂

    What a great blog and beautiful girls you have. We are a military family and retiring soon, our dream is to buy a house with some acreage 🙂

    Have a great weekend, and if you wish, feel free to come by my blog and say hi 🙂

  9. This is my 6th year with UBP. It’s great to visit new bloggers, as well as my old blog friends.
    Sounds like you have a very busy and wonderful life!
    I hope you’re having fun!

  10. Hi! Dropping by from the UBP2013. And I’m your fellow Schoolhouse Reviewer. Love the Old Fashioned myself. I think it’s very wonderful you blog with your daughters.

  11. Oh so happy to meet you, Kerry! What a beautiful post. Thanks for visiting me all the way on the East Coast! Sand Dollars are my favorite. My friend Sara sent me some from Cally as big as mini pancakes! A whole box from the Pacific! I love the East though. Look forward to keeping up with you!

    1. I love both♥ I am re-entering the world of ministry as I have recently begun speaking at Christian Women’s Conferences! My 2nd speaking engagement is in May and I am so excited. I had been waiting on God for this door to open for 2 decades and am excited for this new journey!

  12. I like that your family is so self sustaining, I did when my kids were young, with canning fruits & vegetables making all my kids clothes. I miss that it was a
    feeling of accomplishment. Its good to meet you during the UBP.

    1. Really it is so much fun to do alongside my children. I do wonder if when they are all gone, I will keep this level of DIY up. But after I educated myself on what is in the products I had been buying, it is hard to imagine going back!

  13. Hi, I’m visiting from the UBP. I love what I’ve read so far and will continue to follow your blog. Thanks for stopping by itsjustgod.com. Many blessings to you and your family.

  14. Hi! We are on the crew too! I love your page and hope to come back more. 🙂 I am following you on Facebook. I would love to live on a farm but alas… not yet.. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear more of your gluten free recipes as we have recently gone grain free 🙂

  15. Hi, Thanks for a lovely visit via the Ultimate Blog Party 2013. My parents had ducks, turkeys and geese – mainly as pets and for eggs. I loved the ducks but the geese and turkeys decided they were “watch fowl” and I was always perceived as an “enemy” (probably because they had to share my parents attention with me 🙂 ), so they would often chase me. Definitely liked the ducks better! 🙂 Thanks for a fun visit and sweet family memories!

  16. I think everyone I’ve visited so far homeschools! I don’t do it myself, but love the idea of it and have a lot of respect for those of you do! 🙂 We also raise free-range chickens, raise beef cattle and veggie garden (and can and freeze our produce.) We don’t ‘focus’ on whole foods, but I think we kinda get a lot of them anyway 😉 It’s nice meeting you and your beautiful family! 🙂

  17. Hi, I’m a new follower from the UBP13! Your blog is awesome! I’m a new blogger and hope you’ll come by and follow me at mybutterflyhaus.blogspot.com! Have a blessed day!

  18. What a beautiful introduction! I can’t wait till we finally own our own piece of land and can have our own food sources.

  19. I enjoyed reading about you and your family. It sounds like we share a lot in common from the desire to be “old fashioned” girls, to lots of do it yourself, healthy eating, homeschooling, loving flowers and most of all seeing God’s hand working in our lives. I look forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

