Cooking

Chia Seed Chocolate Peanut Butter Pudding

2013-02-07 16.11.59

Chia Seed Chocolate Peanut Butter Pudding

Chocolate Peanut Butter Chia Pudding
{makes 4 servings}
1 cup milk (You can substitute coconut, almond or whatever you desire.)
4 tbsp chia seeds
1 tbsp cocoa powder
2 tbsp peanut butter
2 tbsp maple syrup
_____
Mix all of your ingredients in a bowl.  I find a whisk works best to blend the peanut butter in.  Refrigerate, stirring every few minutes, until desired consistency…up to 20 minutes. It is a lot like Tapioca Pudding with a little bit of crunch!  I found this recipe (but doubles it for my family) from Amy at 
amy-newnostalgia.blogspot.com as well as the health benefits listed below!
Now why Chia Seeds you may be asking.  Well, I have 3 kids who have food allergies, 2 of my 4 kids have a severe chronic illness that causes stomach issues and we strive to eat as healthy as possible and to keep eliminating processed food from our diet.  I noticed my girls (who battle nausea) were making Tapioca Pudding each night for a snack.  Hmmm….not so bad, but I bet we can do better.  And so my love affair with Chia began.
 Why?
~the are jammed packed with protein and minerals and healthy fats and fiber
~they provide more plant based Omega 3’s than any other food, even FLAX
~5 times the calcium of milk, plus boran which is a trace mineral that helps transfer calcium to bones
~8 times the omega 3’s found in salmon
~3 times more iron than spinach
~2 times the amount of potassium than bananas
~more antioxidants than found in blueberries
~they have 5 GRAMS of fiber PER TABLESPOON!
~the are a complete source of protein, providing all the essential amino acids
~can be stored for years without deterioration of flavor or color
~they are flavorless and dissolve in juice, soups, stews, shakes etc..
 ~they are low calorie way to get super FULL!
My kids all love this pudding and make it themselves for a healthy, yet sweet tooth remedying treat!  I dare you to try it!  I now add it to smoothies, juice, and am going to make a Chia Seed Breakfast Overnight “Oats.”
Chia Seeds are NOT Just for Pets Anymore!
~Kerry~
5 thoughts on “Chia Seed Chocolate Peanut Butter Pudding

  1. I have never heard of chia seeds, either, but am anxious to look into them, as we love chocolate pudding here! Thanks so much for linking up with “Try a New Recipe Tuesday!” I hope you will be able to join us again this week. Many blessings, Lisa

  2. I love chia seeds in yogurt. They are really great for lots of things. I am going to try this pudding as I love tapioca and this would really be similar but better as you said. Do you have a good source for them. Angelle

Leave a Reply

