"Trust In The Lord"

“Show Me The Way I Should Go”

IMAG1949One evening this past week I felt the urge to go someplace quiet and read my Bible while thinking over things that had occurred and questions that had been raised during the day.  I knew I needed to ask God for His guidance in my life and then follow His guidance.  As I sat down, reading my Bible like so many times before, I was drawn to the Psalms and once again was not disappointed when I found verses that where easily inserted into my prayers that evening.  The verses were found in Psalms 143:7-12.   I highlighted the verses below that really stood out to me.

Psalm 143: 7-12

Answer me quickly, O Lord;
my spirit fails.
Do not hide your face from me
or I will be like those who go down to the pit.
Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love,
for I have put my trust in you.
Show me the way I should go,
for to you I lift up my soul.
Rescue me from my enemies, O Lord,
for I hide myself in you.
10 Teach me to do your will,
for you are my God;
may your good Spirit
lead me on level ground.

11 For your name’s sake, O Lord, preserve my life;
in your righteousness, bring me out of trouble.
12 In your unfailing love, silence my enemies;
destroy all my foes,
for I am your servant.

Just as we so often want the Lord to answer us quickly, so also did the Psalmist.  IMAG1903-1Verse seven starts off with  “Answer me quickly, O Lord.”  But he doesn’t stop there.  He puts his trust in the Lord and asks the Lord to show him the “way to go.”  He goes on to ask the Lord to teach him to do God’s will and then closes by acknowledging that he is the Lord’s servant.

So while I may have had questions I wanted God to answer quickly,  I was reminded that I needed to put my trust in God whether the answer came slowly or quickly.  I needed to ask the Lord to show me the way I should go even if it wasn’t where I wanted to go.  Before I continued, I needed to open my heart to God’s teaching so that I could learn to do His will.  Lastly, it wasn’t about me, for I am only His servant and not the other way around.

Moms phone 2011-2012 4882

 

Just as the bible says, God’s ways are different then ours, and at times we don’t understand His plan it doesn’t mean He isn’t working out His own spectacular plan.  Sometimes we just have to move forward one step at a time trusting that God can see the bigger picture and that He knows exactly what He is doing in our lives.  We just need to remember to trust in him, learn to do His will and to be His servant.

Striving to Be His Servant,

~Megan~

One thought on ““Show Me The Way I Should Go”

  1. Dear young woman with a servant’s heart: I was sure this was written by your mother until I read you name below. A mature writer AND a mature believer! What a great combination.

    I wanted you to know that I’m sending these portions of Psalm 143 onto a friend of mine, an older gentleman from our church. We have an ongoing debate. He firmly believes that God has no specific will for a person’s life. What career you chose, your mate, where you live are all up to us and we should not bother God by asking His will on these matters – because He doesn’t have a will; as long as you follow His biblical guidelines and don’t break any moral law (for example, try to find a mate who is a believer and fits the biblical ideals for a mate), he believes that’s all there is to God’s will. On the other hand, I feel very differently about the matter. While it is true that God often doesn’t float down a leaflet from heaven telling me which way to go, nor do we find frequent biblical examples of people often hearing God’s voice directly, I think it’s important to submit these things to Him. James 4:13 – 17 is a good refutation of this idea as is your psalm.

    Keep writing! (And consulting God.),

    Mrs. Klein

Leave a Reply

