Odds and Ends

Homemade Lavender Vanilla Laundry Soap

*My last batch of laundry soap, 2 gallons, lasted 3 months for a family of 6.  Because I only had to buy a bar of Fels Naptha Soap, it only cost me about $1.70 to make another 3 months supply.  And it worked wonderfully.  I loved the subtle scent of lavender that would waft through the laundry room whenever I was in there washing clothes.  If you haven’t tried this yet,  I really hope you will soon!

There is something about the sight of freshly laundered clothes hanging on an old fashioned clothesline, strung between two trees in the backyard.  Something about seeing one of my girls teaching the youngest brother, the art of pinning clothes to the line.  Add to that the scent of LAVENDER VANILLA LAUNDRY SOAP that I made in the kitchen and even laundry can pass from a mundane chore to a memory making moment.  Of course I went right to Pinterest for a recipe to try and then added essential oils to make it my own.

Lavender Vanilla Laundry Soap Recipe

1 bar grated Fels Naptha soap

1 cup Borax

1 cup Washing Soda

2 gallons water

DIRECTIONS: Place 1 bar of grated soap in a large pot.  Add 1 gallon of water.  Turn heat to medium.  After the grated soap is completely dissolved, add the Borax and Washing Soda.  Mix completely and bring to a boil.  I used a metal spoon so that no soap scent would linger.  It may begin to coagulate at this point, but within the next 24 hours for sure.  Once it boils, turn off the heat and add a second gallon of water.  Mix it up again.  

Then I chose lavender essential oil for it’s anti-bacterial properties and soothing effect.  I also added some vanilla essential oil for it’s calming nature.  I added 10 drops at a time, mixed and then inhaled my concoction.  I did this repeatedly until it was scented to my particular liking.  I had purchased 2, 1 gallon containers at the handy dandy dollar store which I then poured my lovely mixture into.

I don’t know if it was the fact that I had enough laundry soap to do approximately 575 at a cost of about $3.00 (with lots of Borax and Washing Soda leftover for future batches), the accomplishment of making it myself or the delightful scent filling my kitchen, but I felt so happy as I sealed the lids in my Lavender Vanilla Laundry Soap that I immediately went to the laundry room and put in a load of clothes.  Drying on the line will have to wait until next summer I am afraid.

 Homemade cleaning products are easy to make, less expensive then when purchased at the store and smell lovely!  We take the dirty and make it clean…a simple task.  Yet He takes the dirty and washes us clean according to His mercy.  Much more complex.  Colossians 3:23 tells us that even laundry can be a means of glorifying our Lord: “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.”

~Happily Washing Clothes at 10:00 p.m. (the folding can wait till tomorrow).~

Kerry

Ephesians 5:26
that he might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word,

Titus 3:5
he saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to his own mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit,

6 thoughts on “Homemade Lavender Vanilla Laundry Soap

  1. You are inspiring me!! I really want to try this, but I don’t have any essential oils. I think it would be pretty boring without them……especially after reading your description!!
    Love ya……………….Becky

    1. Great article and outlook on laundry. Even for current times, I got some great tips. Thank you for sharing our laundry recipe. I am finding that it works well in the dishwasher too with some vinegar thrown in the bottom at the start of the cycle.

Leave a Reply

