Odds and Ends

January 1, 2013

Ecclesiastes 3:11

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end. (NIV)

Glory to God in highest heaven,
Who unto man His Son hath given;
While angels sing with tender mirth,
A glad new year to all the earth.
Martin Luther

The New Year

Dear Lord, as this New Year is born
I give it to Thy hand,
Content to walk by faith what paths
I cannot understand.Whatever coming days may bring
Of bitter loss, or gain,
Or every crown of happiness;
Should sorrow come, or pain,

Or, Lord, if all unknown to me
Thine angel hovers near
To bear me to that farther shore
Before another year,

It matters not—my hand in Thine,
Thy light upon my face,
Thy boundless strength when I am weak,
Thy love and saving grace!

I only ask, loose not my hand,
Grip fast my soul, and be
My guiding light upon the path
Till, blind no more, I see!

– Martha Snell Nicholson

A happy New Year! Grant that I
May bring no tear to any eye
When this New Year in time shall end
Let it be said I’ve played the friend,
Have lived and loved and labored here,
And made of it a happy year.
Edgar Guest
New year

Instead of making a New Year’s resolution
Consider committing to a biblical solution
Your promises are easily broken
Empty words, though earnestly spoken
But God’s Word transforms the soul
By His Holy Spirit making you whole
As you spend time alone with Him
He will change you from within!

– Mary Fairchild

Happy bNew Yearb Eve b2013b  bNew Yearb Eve EbCardb Greetings b2013b  Net bb How To Chinese New Year Cards Free 2013

Write it on your heart that every day is the best day in the year.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

Philippians 4:13
I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; 6 in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.

Happy 2013 from the Old Fashioned Girls!!!

~Kerry, Megan and Katie

Leave a Reply

