Odds and Ends

Simply Handmade Gifts

craft picture

With only 13 days left until Christmas, I want to assure you that there is still time to make a homemade gift for someone special.  Last year, our entire family got in the spirit of making our gifts and that was all we did.  I learned to hand stamped metal and made key chains and necklaces.  I also used wire and beads to embellish serving spoons.  Megan made tea cup candles and warming packs that you heat in the microwave.  Katie crocheted stuffed animals for the boys.  The boys painted jewelry boxes for their sisters and even Dad got in on the action.  Michael made these awesome folding beach chairs with fabric seats and backs.  He even added straps so I could just sling one over my shoulder for a walk down to the riverside.

So, I have searched for some gifts that I think can still be pulled off.  I hope you find at least one you like.  Tell me if you plan on attempting one or two and then post a picture when you are through.  You may end up with tips that make these projects even simpler to complete!

These Fabric Coasters by herzlichst-maaria.blogspot.com look so homey.  I really think the hand stitching on the outside is a quaint touch. I bet you even have enough fabric in your “stash.”

These are the types of tea cup candles the girls made last Christmas.  We found teacups for as little as 50 cents at thrift stores and then just purchased wicks and wax at the craft store and away we went.  A little essential oil in the melted wax and the scent was magnificent! (By the way, that is not our picture & I couldn’t locate the original source.)

Lots of craft ideas, not just teacup candles.    Teacups offer elegant vessels for hand-poured candles. Repurpose china from old place settings, mixing and matching pieces. Or single out a favorite new find, such as this one from Anthropologie.     Read more: DIY Christmas Craft Ideas - DIY Gifts to Make for Christmas - Country Living

This jar Ginger Citrus Simmering Spices from www.tatteredsisters.com looks absolutely beautiful…good enough to eat!  I can just imagine the wonderful aroma of this mixture simmering away on Christmas morning.

Ginger Citrus Simmering Spices....WHAT a GREAT Christmas neighbor gift!!!!!!  Throw it in water on the stove and simmer for a yummy smelling Christmas morning....Everyone wants to do this but never gets around to it so that makes it a perfect gift! SO doing this.

Now who wouldn’t want Hot Chocolate Dipping Spoons?  Check out the tutorial @ alphamom.com though they are pretty self explanatory.  Just think of all the different things that go with chocolate!

Chocolate%20Dipped%20Spoons.jpg

 Another way to add a sweet aroma, naturally, to your home with homemade  Oil Diffusers.  First, get yourself some good quality oils in your favorite scents. Then all you need is a pretty jar or bottle (these can often be found for next to nothing at thrift stores), some bamboo skewers and a carrier oil like almond or jojoba.  You could also use twigs from the garden for a really rustic look. Visit naturalnewagemum.com to see how it’s done.

visiblymoved.blogspot.com featured this Upcycled Jewellery Rack.  Wow, my girls would love these.  Actually so would I.  There is often old barn wood to be had for free and our local Habitat for Humanity often has boxes of cabinet knobs.

Last year I really wanted to make some Personalized Dishware.  I even bought a special pen at Michael’s that you use and a few glass plates.   But @ abeautifulmess.typepad.com she says you can use a good old fashioned Sharpie pen.

Sharpie dishes tutorial

What female doesn’t enjoy a warm soak in a scented bath.  These Bath Fizzies  and Salt  Scrubs look super easy, even coming from Martha…her projects usually scare me.  But this project at www.marthastewart.com looks easy enough.

mld104247_1208_fizzies.jpgmd104239_1208_htfizzy.jpg

mld104247_1208_scrubs.jpg

This is a Sugar Shaving Scrub that Katie makes and it is FABULOUS!  You will never feel softer or silkier just shaved legs!  A must try!  She originally found the instructions at glutenfreenavywife.blogspot.com

Softest, Silkiest Legs.

I love pretty tea towels in the kitchen.  So these Snowflake Tea Towels immediately caught my attention.  The designs are endless.  You could have seasonal tea towels all year long!

Snowflake Tea Towel

Just think of it, all of the lovely quotes that you could turn into a Framed Inspiration.  Almost everybody ha a Pinterest board laden with inspiring sayings.

Framed Inspirational Sentiment

I have never done any felting, but my girls have.  This precious Felted Purse  might be just the inspiration I need to try my hand at it!

Quick-to-Make Felt Purse

This Monogrammed Candle definitely looks like a project that could still be pulled off.  Everyone love their name or initials on handmade gifts.  Check out  www.bhg.com for instructions on this project and the above 3 as well.

Monogrammed Candle

This is similiar to what I made last year for Christmas gifts.  I used larger Serving Spoons to do my Beaded Silverware, but www.infarrantlycreative.net has a great tutorial.

IMG_0826

Lately I have been thinking that I need a place to put my earrings when I am not wearing them.  They always get all tangled up in my jewelry box.  So, when I came across this Vintage Lace Earring Holder a  gabrielsgoodtidings.blogspot.com I thought that this might be just the project.

Well, I hope I have inspired you to try your hand at making a homemade gift or two.  Crafting is such a great way to relax in the midst of the hustle and bustle.  I highly prefer crafting to shopping!

~Merrily Crafting Christmas Gifts~

Kerry

8 thoughts on “Simply Handmade Gifts

    1. That’s a great idea! I wish I had a picture of one I made, but I gave them all away! Maybe I need to make one for myself next, because they are so pretty. I always admired them in department stores, but they were sooooo expensive! Not this way.

    1. I enjoy having a bit of a creative outlet again. Miss you my sweet friend♥ If you are around for Christmas, let’s try to get together. We had hoped to see Ellie and maybe you at the girls’ Sweet 16. They were even thinking of writing a character for you too, as it was a murder mystery dinner they wrote…Think 80’s Party Nerd, Crazy Book Lady and all of the other characters in between. We thought it would be so funny, since their Redmond friends don’t know you, so when Ellie was unable to attend you got written out too 🙂 Love You!

Leave a Reply

