Odds and Ends

Banana Split Endings!

Well, it’s that time of year, where along with holiday cheer and festivities, those ever lurking colds are on the prowl.  After a week of fighting a cold, I finally succumbed to the need to take a day easy and try and get well.  Although I am recovering from POTS (a forum of dysautonomia), any extra stress on my body, like a cold, can still zap me of my energy.  So, while I reluctantly set aside my original plans for the day and settled down for a day on the couch, you could say I was a bit of a resistant patient.  Though, as I look back on my day, I realize that slowing down and not being committed to a set schedule was a good thing and although I did not accomplish what I had originally planned, I got many other things that are just as important accomplished.

So, while I took it easy, I got to get a good head start at reading Les Miserables by Victor Hugo in an attempt to have it read before the new movie hits the theaters.  It was a nice change in pace to be able to enjoy some good literature, as lately I have not had nearly enough time for this occupation.  In between reading, I took a nap and then it was just Matthew and Kyle to keep me company (or rather entertained) as mom and Katie got to go see a Sanctus Real concert.

I had hope to got to the concert, but realized it would be best for me to stay home for the evening.  This turned out to be a lot of fun anyway as we heated up leftover pork chops and mashed potatoes.  Well, actually the pork chops were so good I don’t think anyone even went for the renowned potatoes.  But I digress…  Leftovers in hand, we gathered on the couch to watch one of our favorite Christmas movies, “Elf,” that gets quoted year round at our house!

After we had laughed at all of our favorite scenes and quoted our favorite lines…  Well, as Buddy the Elf said “tickle fight” as his dad tucked him into bed, we just had to have our own, though no one was yet getting tucked in (though the boys did try that later on when I put them to bed.  Key word “tried.”)  Once we had the tickling out of our systems and had barely avoided destroying anything, we snuggled (as Buddy the Elf also likes to do) on the couch to read “Green Eggs and Ham,” “Go Dog Go!,”  “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” and “If You Take a Mouse to The Movies!”

By that time the fellas bed time had rolled around and they were a bit calmed down from reading,  tooth brushing commenced, bedtime prayers were said and they are now contentedly fast asleep.  Leaving me to continue my reading…  that is until dad and I started watching one of our favorite shows and the grand idea, alright now so grand but a pretty good idea none the less, popped into my head to ask if he would make us a banana split!

As I read in between commercials, I was thinking I was asking for a scoop of ice cream, chocolate sauce and some bananas.  Wrong!  As I read, dad created a work of art consisting of vanilla ice cream, whipped cream, perfectly ripened bananas, caramel sauce, and (oh yes,  it gets better) homemade chocolate sauce!  Masterfully combined in a cute little dish to make a SPECTACULAR banana split!

IMAG2812-1

It was a delicious treat as dad ate from his side, which had the caramel (the topping he does not like to go without) and I, from the chocolate side (my favorite part) toward the middle of the dish where we shared the last scoop.  I must say, this was done with short notice and all that was left was two spoons clinking all alone in the dish!  Yummy!

IMAG2816

Proving once again that even though my plans were out of my control, I was able to  spend time with my little brothers, read a great book and have a SPECTACULAR banana split to boot!  With that in mind, I encourage you to not be so set on one plan, for when you take detours from your schedule, you never know what great memories or desserts might follow!

Rested, Happy, With More Reading to Do,

~Megan~

One thought on “Banana Split Endings!

  1. Megan – I read Les Mes a summer ago. The author is excellent but I sure had a hard time relating to how these characters think. Several scenes were baffling to me. I am looking forward to the musical, too, however.

    Hope you are feeling better! Mrs. Klein

Leave a Reply

