"Trust In The Lord"

Just Me, The Night and My Savior

“Be still and know, know that I am God.  Quiet your hearts and steal away.  Rest on My word and you can rest assured.  Be still and know that I am God.”

As I sat and swayed in the swing under the juniper tree in our front yard, as the cold night made my cheeks rosy and made me pull the blanket around my shoulders tightly, as I prayed under a canopy of clouds that created a blanket to separate me from gazing up at the stars, the total peace and quietness enveloped me and it was just me and God.  Alone, as I told Him my sorrows, worries and praises.

“Be still and know, know that I am God” sang forth in a whisper from my lips, as if afraid to disrupt the silent night the chirp of the crickets didn’t even dare break.

I sat and looked into the beauty of the night and knew my savior loved me as I drew near to him.

“Quiet your hearts and steal away” continued forth in its sweet melody, as the words soothed me.  The crisp coolness sank beneath the blanket and down into my skin.

I nudged the ground with my foot and then felt the motion of the swing begin to sway again as I drew back and forth under the tree branches with clouds peeping out above them.

“Rest on My word and you can rest assured.  Be still and know that I am God,”  faded into the vast darkness.  Leaving me behind it as peace swirled around me, just as the cold reached not just my nose but also my fingers, arms and legs.

Yet unlike the cold, the peace reached deep inside me as I sat still… just me, the night and my Savior.

M.M.H.

Psalm 46:10

“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

3 thoughts on “Just Me, The Night and My Savior

  1. Oh Megan, my love, aren’t we blessed to have ” the peace of God which transcends all understanding” in the midst of darkness. Your writings of Him always touch deep within my soul angel girl. I love you, Mama

  2. This is SO beautiful, Megan! I felt like I was snuggled up with you under the blanket enveloped with God’s love and peace. “The heavens declare the glory of God!”
    Love you ❤

Leave a Reply

