Odds and Ends

Presidential Quotes, Thoughts & Quips

Ahh dear readers…the day after the 2012 elections.  It seems that some sort of presidential post is called for.  Yet, I refrained from making any political comments throughout the election in any type of public manner.  It is such a hot button and I prefer to avoid conflict whenever possible.  I did vote, just let it be a private matter.  So, today, in honor of our first post election day, I finally decided to jump on the bandwagon, but in a bit of a different way.  And so I share with you some inspirational, funny, common sensical and sincere thoughts from some of the former President’s of our great country!  I did my best to continue to keep my nose out of the political conundrum.  I hope you enjoy the thoughts of some of our former leaders.

~Feeling More Patriotic By The Minute~ 

Kerry

Let us tenderly and kindly cherish, therefore, the means of knowledge. Let us dare to read, think, speak, and write.

John Adams

If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.
John Quincy Adams

Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.
John Quincy Adams

I do not like broccoli. And I haven’t liked it since I was a little kid and my mother made me eat it. And I’m President of the United States and I’m not going to eat any more broccoli.
George H. W. Bush

A truly American sentiment recognizes the dignity of labor and the fact that honor lies in honest toil.
Grover Cleveland

Nothing in this world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful people with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated failures. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.
Calvin Coolidge

No person was ever honored for what he received. Honor has been the reward for what he gave.
Calvin Coolidge

The friend in my adversity I shall always cherish most. I can better trust those who helped to relieve the gloom of my dark hours than those who are so ready to enjoy with me the sunshine of my prosperity.
Ulysses S. Grant

Hold fast to the Bible. To the influence of this Book we are indebted for all the progress made in true civilization and to this we must look as our guide in the future.
Ulysses S. Grant

Conscience is the authentic voice of God to you.
Rutherford B. Hayes

Any man worth his salt will stick up for what he believes right, but it takes a slightly better man to acknowledge instantly and without reservation that he is in error.
Andrew Jackson

The Bible is the rock on which this Republic rests.
Andrew Jackson

But friendship is precious, not only in the shade, but in the sunshine of life, and thanks to a benevolent arrangement the greater part of life is sunshine.
Thomas Jefferson

When you reach the end of your rope, tie a knot in it and hang on.
Thomas Jefferson

We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal; that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights; that among these are life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.
Thomas Jefferson

Peace is a journey of a thousand miles and it must be taken one step at a time.
Lyndon B. Johnson

Do not pray for easy lives. Pray to be stronger men.
John F. Kennedy

Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.
Abraham Lincoln

Sir, my concern is not whether God is on our side; my greatest concern is to be on God’s side, for God is always right.
Abraham Lincoln

Most folks are as happy as they make up their minds to be.
Abraham Lincoln

I remember my mother’s prayers and they have always followed me. They have clung to me all my life.
Abraham Lincoln

If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under.
Ronald Reagan

Within the covers of the Bible are the answers for all the problems men face.
Ronald Reagan

We are never defeated unless we give up on God.
Ronald Reagan

Believe you can and you’re halfway there.
Theodore Roosevelt

A thorough knowledge of the Bible is worth more than a college education.
Theodore Roosevelt

It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed.
Theodore Roosevelt

If you can’t stand the heat, get out of the kitchen.
Harry S. Truman

My mother was the most beautiful woman I ever saw. All I am I owe to my mother. I attribute all my success in life to the moral, intellectual and physical education I received from her.
George Washington

It is impossible to rightly govern a nation without God and the Bible.
George Washington

Associate with men of good quality if you esteem your own reputation; for it is better to be alone than in bad company.
George Washington

True friendship is a plant of slow growth, and must undergo and withstand the shocks of adversity, before it is entitled to the appellation.
George Washington

Worry is the interest paid by those who borrow trouble.
George Washington

Leave a Reply

