"Trust In The Lord"

Be creative, Go With the Flow and Make The Best of Each Situation!

Well it has just been one of those weeks here at our house.  We started school, had an emergency on our hand by Tuesday and are now back on out feet running this Saturday.  The house is eerily quite for a Saturday (or any day for that matter) as Katie and I are the only ones home!  I have just sat down having heated up leftover for Katie and a bowl of cereal for my dinner and after switching my spoon that was to small for one that can hold more than two Chex per bite I hardly dare say I am ready to get writing!

But happy for me I do think I am ready as I will ever be to get back in the blogging mode. Since we are homeschooled our first day went off well as mom and I reviewed my credits and the one I will be earning this coming year.

Then Tuesday dawned and seemed to be going well as I continued to get the rest of my “classes” set up (getting my books figured out and worksheets printed).  But at around three mom came and told me that due to some medication changes my sister Katie’s heart rate was extremely low and we need to rush her to the doctors (about 45 five minuets away).

Long story short she needed to spend the night in the hospital which meant I got to spend the night at some of my dearest friends house so I could be close to my twin.  Because with POTS (postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome, a forum of dysautonomia) there was not much the hospital could do for her after getting her heart rate back to normal so they sent her home still feeling crummy.

But before they sent her home Cassie, Grace and I decided to do our best to cheer Katie up.  So we had a “party” at the hospital for her.  We barged into her room turn the ipod on to cheery music that spilled all over the room through a dancing idog and got to work hanging streamers and balloons with tape all over the room deprived of color.

Once we had made a through job of the room cheerification (to the fellow homeschoolers out there I know it is not a word but you can humor me) with iv polls, beds and walls hung with balloons and steamers and the room full of “balloon friends” (faces drawn on balloons) we were on to the second step of our plan!

Alright so at this point we did stray a bit from the plan and sent out an invite on facebook inviting anyone who at the last minute might be able to attend the party on the 5th floor at room 513 (and hey we did get two other friends to come in the end).  But I digress so back to the second stage…

We had brought nail polish and proceed to paint Katie’s nails around all the tubes and wires that were attached to her and we gave her a pretty nice “hospital manicure and pedicure” if I do say so myself!  Then we scrounged through our purses and came up with enough make up to do her up a bit.  Then to finish it all off we braided her hair and applied lip gloss!

Since she has been out of the hospital she still has felt pretty sick due to POTS but has bravely continued on in this new phase of her life, dealing with a chronic illness.  Us friends and family continued on in the best way we new how from the years that I was sick (I have had POTS for ten years.  Two weeks after I started getting better Katie got POTS after she had a virus) and that is to be creative go with the flow and make the best of each situation.  Life is too short to wait to live and you would miss out on so many good things if you tried!

School has continued on and Monday we plan on “restarting” school as mom put it.  Once again we have been taught that life does not always go as you plan it.  You can fight it or make the best of it and if you choose to make the best of it you will find many sweet memories and surprises along the way.  One you would never have found if your life had gone as planned!

Romans 8:28 (NIV)

“28 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

Jeremiah 29:11

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'”

Surprised Yet Still Learning,

Megan

Leave a Reply

