Tags

, ,

Friday night is often pizza night in our home.  I think it is in a lot of homes.  I have made homemade pizza a few times, but usually succumb to $5 pizza at the local pizza take out!  Well, that became quite a bit more difficult to pull off when one of my daughters began eating gluten free a year ago.  If she eats gluten now, she will be sick within a few hours.  So, it is imperative she stays on a strict gluten free diet.  Then, my youngest son became gluten free a couple of months ago, which immediately stopped his headaches and stomach aches.  Okay, pretty much no way to do $5 pizza night anymore…  :-(  and I really LOVE pizza!

IMAG2856

The only way we can have pizza on Friday nights now (without paying a fortune for marginal, pre-made gluten free pizza) is to make it ourselves.  I missed pizza so much, I had to come up with an option.  With 2 members of the family eating gluten free, I might as well make all the pizza gluten free.  So after a bit of practice and a little trial and error, we are once again eating pizza on Friday nights and it tastes delicious and is much healthier.  It is also pretty easy!  I hope you try it at least once!

Pizza Dough Recipe

2 1/2 tsp yeast

1 cup warm water

1 1/2  teaspoons sugar

*Put warm water in a small glass bowl.  Sprinkle yeast on top of water. Mix the teaspoon of sugar in.  Cover and let set until the mixture begins to bubble, usually 10 to 15 minutes.

In the meantime, combine the additional ingredients in a mixing bowl.

2 1/4 to 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon dried basil (optional)

1 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons olive oil

Blend this flour mixture with a fork.

Once the yeast mixture is bubbly, add it to your flour mixture.

When all of your ingredients are well blended, you are ready to decide whether you want 1 thick pizza, or 2 thin crust pizzas.  Right now, my family is in to thin crust, so I get 2 pizzas out of this recipe.  For years, I used this amount for one pizza.  This is a softer dough, so you may need some extra flour to roll it out.  Just plop the dough right on your pan.  I use my lovely Pampered Chef baking stones!  But it works on a regular cookie sheet as well.  Using floured hands, I begin pushing the dough out to the edges.  If it is too sticky, I just sprinkle on a bit of flour.  You can use your hands until you have the dough completely spread, or get out a rolling pin to help with this task.

Gluten Free Pizza Dough is just as easy.  I substitute my gluten free flour mixture and add 1 teaspoon of xanthan gum to my additional ingredients.  I will include my gluten free flour mixture at the end.

You can use a pre-made pizza sauce, take tomato sauce and season it to taste with a bit of sugar, salt garlic powder, onion powder and Italian seasoning.  I have begun using a can of petite diced tomatoes.  I simply place them in a colander and drain the excess liquid off.

IMAG2845

Then I sprinkle the drained tomatoes on my waiting crust and season with a sprinkle or two of basil and thyme.

IMAG2847

If you want more of a sauce, you can just pulse the tomatoes and seasonings in your blender and then spread on your crust.

IMAG2848-1

Next comes the fun part, the toppings!  It is super easy to please everyone, because you can divide the pizza into segments of different toppings.  My gluten free girls loves Hawaiian style pizza, which I think is disgusting and never used to buy her.  Now, I keep a small can of pineapple tidbits on hand and have small frozen portions of diced ham I can whip out.

IMAG2850

Most everyone else likes sausage, but my other daughter and I love sausage and olives.  I just cook up a bit of Sweet Italian Sausage (freeze the extra for the next time I make pizza) and drain a can of sliced olives.

IMAG2849

My husband wanted just cheese that night, so I left 1/3 without other toppings.  See how easy it is to make everyone happy!  Ahhhh, now for the cheese.  I buy the pre-shredded Italian blend of Mozzarella, Parmesan and Asagio.  Plain mozzarella would be great too.

IMAG2854IMAG2853

By this time, the dough has risen some and I just pop it in the pre-heated oven.  You could let it rest for a bit longer, if you want it to rise more.  But by this time, I am so hungry for pizza, I can’t wait.  In to the pre-heated 425 degree oven it goes for 15 to 20 minutes.

IMAG2855-1

Voila!  Cheese, Hawaiian and sausage and olive pizza! It may sound more difficult than it really is.  At least give it a try!  Now, I just make sure I have a can of diced tomatoes, Italian cheese and a few toppings on hand for when the pizza craving hits.  It has just become a habit to have these ingredients in the pantry.  And kids love helping to make pizza!  Most adults do too!  You can divide the dough up into mini pizzas for added fun!  It is super easy to make 2 batches at the same time also.

Lovin’ Me Some Homemade Gluten Free Pizza!  Ciao Bella!

~Kerry

My Gluten Free, All Purpose Flour Mix

3 cups white rice flour

1 1/4 cup potato starch

3/4 cup tapioca flour

For more “How To” posts, visit on Tuesday, January 15th,

when the Blog Cruise goes live!

Photobucket

